SuperNats XXVII


2025 Winter Series


2024 Pro Tour


SKUSA Mexico


2024 PKC


2024 TSRS




EKN Exclusive: Superkarts! USA SuperNationals 24 – Preview Series – Pro Shifter
Tuesday, 30 November 2021 11:26

Defending KZ winner Danny Formal looking for a fourth SuperNationals victory (Photo: On Track Promotions –

The class that started it all at the SKUSA SuperNationals was the S1 division. The premier shifterkart category at the inaugural SuperNats in 1997 with the S1 division. That remained the headline division up until the SuperPro division was established. It was in that category the engine program shifted from moto engines to karting-specific powerplants, while also welcoming international drivers by the final year of the class in 2009. It was then when the division was split into two with the promotion of the Stock Moto category from the SKUSA Pro Tour to the S1 name and KZ class established. 2019 was the debut of the IAME SSE engine, adjusting the name to Pro Shifter. Now, for the 2021 edition of the SuperNationals, we are combining the KZ and Pro Shifter engines into one category, welcoming the largest class turnout in recent years.

The combination of the two categories into one welcome two defending winners looking to repeat in 2021. History can be made by Billy Musgrave (Factory Karts), the three-time defending winner in the Pro Shifter division. The 2012 S2 winner has four total SuperNationals victories, currently tied with Connor De Phillippi and Kip Foster with the most by one driver. With a win on SuperSunday, Musgrave can put himself alone at the top of the SuperNationals win list. Looking to join him at four total wins in Vegas is defending KZ winner Danny Formal (LEM / Formula K). It was an emotional victory for the Costa Rican in 2019, besting a talented field for his third SuperNationals win, joining his S1 victories from 2015 and 2016. Last year, the two did not run head-to-head. In the five times Formal and Musgrave have raced against one another at the SuperNationals, Formal has finished better in three of years (2014-2016). Read full story on